Landscaping

Come share your ideas for sprucing up your property.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

bmerri

Hi, I'm new at this. I was just wandering if anybody could help me with how far out from the trailer do i have to go for my edging to make it look right? We have a 14x70 mobile home with no landscaping at all. It faces the south. No shade at all. I'm trying to find ideas on that too. I'm in zone 5. I'ts a light grey. We work and farm alot too. Not much time but I still want it to look nice. I will post a pic. as soon as I find out how.
Any information would be helpful.
Thanks
Serena

You might check with a native plant society or the local nursery for low maintenance landscaping ideas. I have a combination of in-the-ground and container plants. There are strict rules in my MHP, all planting requires approval beforehand.

I have some areas narrow, some wider, some curved, some straight.
Some parts have cypress mulch around the plants, others have egg rock.

I also have large water collection containers at all the drain spouts.

Your possibilities are so many. Landscaping from scratch takes a lot of work, time and money. I think your idea of doing research first is a really good one.

Good luck with it!
Koiflowers

bmerri:

I've gardened in zone 5 for 18 years. I don't really know what you want to accomplish with your landscaping, but I suspect you'd like low-maintenance since you sound busy. Can't wait to see your pictures.

I tend to lean toward cottage style gardens, but have a solid knowledge of a diversity of plants that thrive well in zone 5. I'm now discovering the challenges of 105 deg. heat, no rain, and no winter a few zones south of you (moved here 3 1-2 years ago). I've almost got that scenario down, but I truly miss good old Zone 5.

Post your pictures, and I'm sure lots of help will be forthcoming.
Yanita

Hi,

Welcome to the site!

How far to plant away from your home...

Well no planting should rub against or climb up the home.