Re level Advice...Please

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

help4MH

Harry wrote:Hi Steven

You've rec'd some good info above. I just wanted to add if after checking you find you need to relevel you'll need 4 maybe 6 20ton jacks, jack plates and timbers. And don't forget you may also need to do some tie-down strap maintenance.

Releveling is covered in Marks Manual Chapter 21.

Good Luck

Harry
Hi,
I'm new to this BB, so I'm sorry if I'm doing it wrong. I felt a "lump" under where the double wide of my place, a 16' double wide, 11 yrs old, is. Had 2 contractors come out. 1 said "you don't have anything wrong", but she didn't measure, level or look. The other was a Mobile Home contractor and he said "your marriage line is out and you are 1" off down on either side outwards so the marriage line, whatever it is called is bowed holding the strain of the "unlevel" Mobile home. He said he could do it in a day, and it would cost $2000. I live in Santa Cruz, and I'm wondering if I really need a relevel? Can I wait? I can see 1 stress crack from where the beam is coming thru the sheetrock. But, after reading all that you guys wrote, I'm wondering If the bid I got is way too much? And what if they relevel? Can they break my pipes? Sheetrock inside? And anything else? I'm afraid to take the bid, I live alone and I don't know anything about it. Please someone , help. I know I'm new, but should I call the contractor back and say "I'm seeing other bids of $500 etc?" I just don't know how to handle this, and if I don't relevel, what will happen? My old MH was shorter, and this one is longer, and the end that I'm feeling the lump where the double wide is "bulging", is the end where the pad stopped early. The 1st MH I had here was about 30'. This one is 50'. Should I get other bids? What do I do?????? HELP? Please????Thanks, and sorry for so many questions.
Yanita

Hi,