Blower

Questions about repairs and parts for Coleman furnaces, air conditioners and heat pumps for manufactured homes. Click here for Coleman parts.

Moderators: Greg, Mark

Locked
sandpointspud
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:10 pm

Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:15 pm

Hi I have a EB17B and just replaced the sequencer a few weeks ago. At that time the fan would not turn off. Now there are times it wont come on on either auto or the on position of thermostat. After some time being off, it will start to work again. Not sure what part needs replaced.

thanks


User avatar
Robert
Moderator
Posts: 6413
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:07 am
Location: Tennessee

Wed Feb 09, 2011 3:21 pm

Hi,


Possibly a bad thermostat or a loose wire connection by what you described. Would have to test it to know for sure.



Thanks,
Robert
Some people are Humbly Grateful, while some are Grumbly Hateful.................... Which one are you ?

sandpointspud
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:10 pm

Wed Feb 09, 2011 9:20 pm

Thanks Robert,
Is there a way I can test the thermostat? I will check for loose wires

User avatar
Robert
Moderator
Posts: 6413
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:07 am
Location: Tennessee

Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:11 pm

Hi,

For auto mode:


With a NO CALL at t-stat, should have 24VAC across RH and W.


With a CALL for heat, it should change to 0VAC across RH and W.


For Fan ON CONT. mode:

NO CALL = 24VAC across RH and G

CALL = 0VAC across RH and G



Thanks,
Robert
Some people are Humbly Grateful, while some are Grumbly Hateful.................... Which one are you ?

User avatar
Robert
Moderator
Posts: 6413
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:07 am
Location: Tennessee

Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:13 pm

Hi,

For auto mode:


With a NO CALL at t-stat, should have 24VAC across RH and W.


With a CALL for heat, it should change to 0VAC across RH and W.


For Fan ON CONT. mode:

NO CALL = 24VAC across RH and G

CALL = 0VAC across RH and G



Thanks,
Robert
Some people are Humbly Grateful, while some are Grumbly Hateful.................... Which one are you ?


sandpointspud
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:10 pm

Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:34 pm

Thanks, Tested the thermo and it seems to be fine. The blower now operates when it feels like it. Sometimes runs and other times it doesn't. Could it be the fan switch?

User avatar
Robert
Moderator
Posts: 6413
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:07 am
Location: Tennessee

Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:02 am

Hi,

May just be a loose wire connection or a bad switch that circuit is running through.


Thanks,
Robert
Some people are Humbly Grateful, while some are Grumbly Hateful.................... Which one are you ?

sandpointspud
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:10 pm

Mon Feb 14, 2011 3:39 pm

Hi Robert,
I found a Yellow wire that goes from the transformer to the circuit breaker that was not hooked up. Now the fan will run in the "on" position but not in the "auto" Position. Sequencer is only 1 month old. If fan comes on and runs, that must mean the relay is good too? I am now at a loss!

Don

User avatar
Robert
Moderator
Posts: 6413
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:07 am
Location: Tennessee

Tue Feb 15, 2011 2:38 am

Hi Don,

Could be another loose wire,sequencer, fan relay, wire connection bad. Would have to test all components and connections in circuits to find the problem.

For auto, t-stat sends signal to sequencer and it runs from there through the fan relay and on to motor.

Then the other motor lead comes from the breaker/fuse.



Thanks,
Robert
Some people are Humbly Grateful, while some are Grumbly Hateful.................... Which one are you ?

sandpointspud
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:10 pm

Sun Feb 20, 2011 2:56 pm

Hi Robert,
Can you let me know how to test sequencer and blower relay now. The T-Stat tested fine. Fan will not run when in auto except for after the call for heat. It seems to run on cool down

sandpointspud
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:10 pm

Sun Feb 20, 2011 4:30 pm

Here are the test results from the sequencer.
With call for heat, fan set to auto:
H1/H2 24vac
H3/H4 24 vac
M1/M2 240vac
M2/M3 0vac

Hope this helps
Don

User avatar
Robert
Moderator
Posts: 6413
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:07 am
Location: Tennessee

Sun Feb 20, 2011 10:52 pm

Hi Don,

Sequencer is bad. M1/M2 should read 0vac.

M1/M2 controls one element coil and the blower motor in auto.



Do you need ordering info for the sequencer ?


Thanks,
Robert
Some people are Humbly Grateful, while some are Grumbly Hateful.................... Which one are you ?

sandpointspud
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:10 pm

Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:52 am

Hi Robert,
Yes Please can you send me the number again. What could be taking the sequencer out. It is only about a month old.

User avatar
Robert
Moderator
Posts: 6413
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:07 am
Location: Tennessee

Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:25 pm

Hi Don,

IF you purchased the sequencer from us, it may be covered under the warranty IF the sequencer itself is bad.

Getting 24vac across H1 and H2 is what energizes M1/M2 and M3/M4 and closes them.


You will read 240vac before they close and 0vac after they close.


You stated M1/M2 is still reading 240vac which indicates it did not close.


You have the t-stat, sequencer, fan relay, fan switch, motor , motor run capacitor and all wires and wiring connections in the auto and fan continuous modes. Plus the breakers and transformer.

Intermittent problems can be hard to find.

The store is closed right now due to a blizzard. Try calling Mark @ 605-229-2627 tomorrow and he can give info on returning the sequencer.


Is there any water or moisture getting inside the furnace and electrical controls area ?

Any electrical spikes lately ?




Thanks,
Robert
Some people are Humbly Grateful, while some are Grumbly Hateful.................... Which one are you ?

Locked