Dryer wire

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

busybee1952

I posed this question in conjunction with another post of mine and then thought I should actually make it a different topic.

Is there any reason I can't run my 10/3 dryer wire alongside the gasline that goes through the holes in the frame (as I've already done) or will I blow the place to smitherines if I hook this wire up?

http://s162.photobucket.com/albums/t243 ... wire-1.jpg
Yanita

Hi Busybee,

I do not have an answer for you, but will alert someone to get you the proper info. There maybe codes involved with this. LOL, since this is combining the 2 elements that I fear the most I choose not to respond.

Hold on...

Yanita
The difference between success and failure is who gives up first!
JD
Site Admin

Hi Pat,

I am not a licensed electrician, so you need to get more qualified opinions than mine. But I was unable to find a specific code stating that you can not run these services in the same area. That being said, I have never seen gas lines and electrical wire run as a single clump. It does not sound safe to me, but that would be just an opinion much like your own. To be sure and safe, that information should come from someone with a specific knowledge or better yet, from your local building department.

JD
☯JD♫
Today is PERFECT!

All information and advice given is for entertainment and informational purposes only. The person doing the work is solely responsible to insure that their work complies with their local building code and OSHA safety regulations.
Greg

I guess I would ask why would you want to risk a MAJOR problem? How hard is it to run the electrical in a different location? Greg
"If I can't fix it, I can screw it up so bad no one else can either."
Robert

Hi,

Never had this asked before, so lets look at some scenarios.