*PIC* Will new caulk stick to this?

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

marriednamobile

Hi,
I know you're supposed to remove all the old caulk and then de-mold or clean the seal before you recaulk it (between tub and bottom of shower wall liner), but my seal was so cracked and brittle that I can't get it all off, I'm talking heavy duty utility knife, razor scraper, and caulk remover tool (little scraping thing)
Is it going to mess up the new caulk if I absolutely can't get all of the old caulk removed?
Please help. Whoever caulked this tub *curses* needs to google caulking or something, I can caulk better than this, and I'm a novice, a female novice mind you!

I've removed the main seam of caulk and as much residue as possible, here are the pictures, will my new caulk stick to this?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by marriednamobile on Sat Jan 23, 2010 3:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
The flower that blooms in adversity is the rarest, and most beautiful of all.
Brenda (OH)

I read that you have to remove all of silicone caulk before recaulking. that would be rubbery stuff, the old brittle stuff is probably grout. I think that can stay...

If you end up with a big gap, there is a think called a backer rod, it is a piece of foam you pop in the gap to help you save caulk and get the caulk to fill the gap.

You can put blue painters tape on the wall and the tub, and apply the caulk, smooth it with your finger, then remove the tape before the caulk sets according to "Tommy" at this old house... I haven't tried it yet, you better believe I will be using the grade that is cleanable with water the first time I try that short cut lol