Question About Coleman Evcon EB20B Blower Motor

Questions about repairs and parts for Coleman furnaces, air conditioners and heat pumps for manufactured homes. Click here for Coleman parts.

Moderators: Greg, Mark

Hi there,

Newbie here with a question about my 7 Year Old Coleman Evcon EB-20B, or more precisely the Blower Motor. I am pretty positive I already know the answer to my question, but I always prefer a second opinion...... :wink:

I have noticed the past couple of months, that my Blower Motor has not been keeping a constant speed. During it's normal cycle, the motor will speed up, then slow down, and continue to do so throughout the entire cycle. You can even hear the different speeds in the air, that is being forced through the vents. I have had my system off the past couple of months, due to nice weather, but when I tested it during a hot day last week, the symptoms were worse. You could really hear the different speeds of the motor, through the vents and when I removed the access panel. I suspect that I need to replace the Blower Motor and Run Capacitor, which should solve the problem. Due to other problems in the past, I have already replaced my Transformer and the Sequencer. I'm quite familiar with replacing the part in my Central Heat/Air system, as you can tell...... :lol:

Anyway, I was just looking for a second opinion, on whether or not it is in fact the Blower Motor that is going out, or if I am looking in the wrong direction.

Thanks
Orangestng
Robert

Have you checked the voltage and amp draw of motor at time of this erratic behavior ?

Is the run cap swollen or leaking or showing signs of damage ?

Thanks,
Robert
www.mobilehomerepair.com
Some people are Humbly Grateful, while some are Grumbly Hateful.................... Which one are you ?

Hey there Robert,

For your first question, I have not taken a meter to the motor as of yet.