paint sealant??

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

ochetura03

:D hi my friends i got a question, they told me that there's a paint sealant that i think its called blackjack ,but there are different kinds of that blackjack,can someone help me on which sealant coating i can use for my roof ? and its like a white paint,,thank you
awo ni orunmila ochetura
Greg

There are a few types of roof coatings. I prefer the lighter colored sealers since they reflect the sun better. Your best bet is do do some reading and research. There are some that you should not use over tar based sealers so you need to read the can. Greg
"If I can't fix it, I can screw it up so bad no one else can either."
JD
Site Admin

I have been repairing mobile homes for over 23 years. I have never seen a coating for asphalt shingles that can give you your money's worth. At best, the sealant may last a year or two if you are leaking now. That is just what I have found from my experience.

There is no quick fix (short of the blue tarp) for shingle roofs that have played out there usable life span. Replacing damaged roof sheathing and re-roofing with new shingles is probably the cheapest answer. Converting to a metal roof could give you a longer lasting roof, but they will be much more expensive, whether DIY or contracted.

If you still have some life in your shingles and can track down the source or any leaks, you can usually patch up the leak with regular roof mastic. Roof mastic will not repair large areas or make up for ponding problems.