Exterior wall insulation

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

exiled

Hi,

Newbie here. I have the same problem Valerie does. but I don't even have any plywood underneath my siding.

I had to rip the back corner out because of faulty wiring that had been chewed through and discovered that other than some blowin in insulation (which ranges in places from 1/2" to 2" at the sides), that there is nothing else. No tar paper, in some places it looks like there is some kind of kraft paper of some sort.

So my question is this. I would like to get some 4'x8' sheets of the SuperCell FP Insulation which is like bubble wrap for insulating walls. but I'd prefer to put it on the outside instead of cutting it up and putting it between my studs.

Is is hard to take the siding off (or rather lifting it away from the bottom since I don't want to disturb my roof) and putting something in? If there is a bit of space for the paper and carboard they had in there, then this might fit fine, but my mom told me its hard to take siding off.

thanks,
Greg

What type of siding do you have? Greg
"If I can't fix it, I can screw it up so bad no one else can either."
Yanita

Hi,

I am going to separate the last 2 post and hopefully create a new one.

Although they are sort of the same question they are different none the less. We encourage everyone to create their own threads so every question gets answered. Having multiple situations in one thread creates confusion.

Thanks,

Yanita
The difference between success and failure is who gives up first!
Yanita

AHA! I did it, please carry on.

Yanita
exiled

My siding looks like the original aluminum. I noticed that the wall that had the water damage last year is one that gets a lot of snow up against it...