Replacing under belly duct work

Post all other heating and cooling questions here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark

Mark440

I'm noticing a huge difference in the amount of airflow from one side of the house verses the other. My ducts "T" at the furnace and then shoot straight down each side.

My last visit to the crawlspace revealed a wad of duct tape at the "T" the size of Texas from the previous owner. I think I want to just chuck it all out in the yard and start over.

Also, the big tubes that connect from the "T" to the registers is laying on the ground. Not seeing any suspension pieces anywhere.

Are there any major drawbacks to replacing all of this mess with aluminum and it the duct work just be hung from the underbelly frame?

I'm not a seasoned pro with this type of repair, but have very good mechanical aptitude. Can I do it myself - or should I contract it out?
Robert

Hi,

I believe you are referring to the cross-over duct that connects

the two sides. In a double-wide you have two main trunklines, one

for each half of home, then the cross-over connects them.

Best method is all metal, two 90* elbows and hard metal between

them.

All wrapped in insulation with an outer vapor/moisture barrier.

Next best, two 90* ells and flex duct stretched tight between

them.

No sagging or kinking this way.

IF you wish to replace the trunklines also and have them below underbelly, you will have to make sure belly is sealed tight and waterlines insulated to keep from freezing IF that is a possibility.

Also, below the belly leaves the chance of rodents damging the ductwork.

This can become intensive, depending on how far you wish to go, but is doable for DIY if you're willing.

Would be very costly to have it done.

Thanks for inquiring,
Robert
Some people are Humbly Grateful, while some are Grumbly Hateful.................... Which one are you ?
Mark440

Robert,