New Min Home - Tons of questions

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

Gondo

I recently purchased a 1992 16x72 mini home. It's not finished very well...previous owners didn't have a clue. Paint job covers floor and switches, etc... Hardwood floor scratched to death from all the cats. Toilet leaked and rotted floor, so I had to reinstall toilet and wedge it cause it's 1/2 inch high. That's just the beginning. Anyways I got a great deal so I can put $20,000+ into it without much loss.

So I wanna basically gut the place and rebuild it to high standards. Here are a few of my many questions. I live in Canada and -30'C weather is not uncommon. I am also an electrician so that's no prob, but I'm only a do-it-yourselfer when it comes to plumbing. I know enough to possibly get into trouble. Let me begin :)

Are we allowed to drill through the floor joists for the purpose of passing electrical/plumbing? I doubt it. The supply water comes out of a barrel in the ground, travels about 20ft in mid air then up and through the floor to the hot water tank etc.... The 20ft of exposed pipe is insulated with heat tape. Is this normal, or should the supply be run through the belly within the floor joists and insulation. If we arn't allowed to drill through the floor joist this is why it's run supported in mid air.

I am going to take 2 bedrooms and turn them into 1 larger bedroom, and 1 large wakk in pantry/utility room. The hot water tank will be moved into the pantry so it's nearly above the barrel, eliminating the 20ft run. The supply will just shoot straight up into the mini home and attach to the tank. I'll need to insulate and heat tape the 3-4ft. Any comments/tips regarding this?

Secondly I wanna light up the underneath of the home. I will run conduit, lamp holders and install weatherproof switches next to the underbelly entrances. And comments/suggestions regarding this.