sewer water coming out of open sewer lines?

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

JeffInFL

I have a toilet, master bath sink and kitchen sink removed, and the sewer lines/connections above the subfloor are just sitting there open. When running the washing machine, water started coming up out of of the toilet sewer line. I'm assuming it's when the machine drained all of it's water.

Being the crafty craftsman that I am, I plugged the sewer hole with a big Wendy's soda cup. Next time the washer was run, the water came up through the kitchen sink sewer line instead (which is about 2" off the floor"). The master bath sewer plumbing is still in place (P trap and whatnot) and hasn't had a problem.

Is the backup happening because the drains are open, and the expelled washing machine water is just taking the path of least resistance? I don't believe this was happening prior to removing the sinks and toilet.

The septic tank is at one end of the trailer, and the master bath is at the other end. The washer is located in about the middle. The kitchen sink is between the washer and toilet, closer to the washer.
Greg

It does sound to me like the open drains may be the problem, the washer is actually pumping the water into the lines. If you can pour a gallon of water down the lines with no problems than I would think the system is OK. If not you may need to run a snake down the lines.

Greg
"If I can't fix it, I can screw it up so bad no one else can either."
countrydan