on demand hot water

Share with us your alternative energy ideas and projects. Tell us about your experiments, no matter how far-fetched they may seem.

Moderators: Greg, Mark

ecastillo

I am fairly new to the world of manufactured homes. I was wondering if anyone has removed their old hot water heater and replaced it with an on demand system. I am thinking about doing this for energy savings and space savings. Is this even possible or allowed in these types of homes?
flcruising

Whole house on-demand electric heaters have a much higher load requirement than a standby heater. I doubt your 100 or 200A house panel would be large enough to accommodate it; you would probably have to feed it directly off the meter panel. That being said, the energy savings would probably take a number of years to recoup because of the retrofitting involved. Gas, on the otherhand, may be a better solution as those are commonly mounted externally. Sometimse the main regulator needs changing, but that's pretty much it.
[color=blue]Aaron[/color]
ecastillo

Thanks flcruising for your input. It is gas that I would be using. If there is anyone else out there that has done this or can provide helpful information, please chime in.
flcruising

Sorry, for some reason I automatically assume electric.

Of course it's doable in a manufactured home, as long as it's installed to code (call your building department) and by a licensed contractor.

I suggest you call your gas company and see what they say. Those people encounter practically every condition and would probably be most helpful.
[color=blue]Aaron[/color]
jpingram5