Compact Fluorescent Lights

Come share your ideas for sprucing up your property.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

JimCNY

Does any one know if you can use Compact Fluorescent Lights in a ceiling fan? I know the fan I bought came with three bulbs that can withstand the vibrations.
Yanita

Hi,

I have them in mine and they are working fine.

~Yanita~
The difference between success and failure is who gives up first!
klm9707

I have them in mine also and are working fine.
Manitoba Bill

Canada is proposing to ban incan. bulbs, but they better think twice about
CFL's.
Esp. after reading these disturbing stories.

http://www.wnd.com/news/article.asp?ARTICLE_ID=55213
[color=red]
I'm not an Expert, just a DIY[/color]
JD
Site Admin

There has been further investigations on the Brandy Bridges / World News Daily story. I will add links at the bottom of the post. But the gist of it says

Mercury is a dangerous substance and CFLs, broken or not, do need to go to special waste centers. But the amount of mercury in a CFL is about the size of this period . 5 miligrams. Where the old mercury thermometers were 500 miligrams. A single broken CFL does not pose a life threat. But accumulations in land fills is a concern.

Maine's DEP currently does not recommend a hazmat team for a broken cfl bulb. It says to wear gloves, sweep (don't vacuum) all of the glass and put in a sealed plastic container. I also did not see anything that denies that Brandy Bridges was told to use a hazmat team at the cost of $2000. Maybe a DEP employee shooting from the hip, I don't know. Energy Star's CFL FAQ sheet says just about the same thing now.