Can I wallpaper directly over the battans in my doublewide?

Come share your ideas for sprucing up your property.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

daridoodle

Hi
I am new to this wonderful forum. We are converting an older double wide into our lakeside cottage.

I am looking forward to painting our bath and kitchen cupboards, adding new hardware, sink and counter tops, using all the great ideas I found here!

We have pulled up carpets and put in laminate flooring, new windows, new siding and roof. We successfully painted out all the wallboard.

I would like to wallpaper several rooms using vinyl wallpapers, but am concerned about going over the battens. Hubby is afraid with shifting in the winter the paper may tear . We shut down then leaving the heat at 50 degrees. I had planned on using a liner. Has anyone successfully wallpapered over the battens?
mobtek

Sorry - this isn't an answer to your question, but...

What about Faux Painting? You could certainly create something that looks like wallpaper and then settling wouldn't matter. Plus, it's kinda fun.
1989 Fuqua SW
daridoodle

Thank you for the suggestion, but I just do not have that kind of talent, plus I am really hoping to make the battens "disappear".
Yanita

Hi,

Although I have never done this myself I can only tell you what I have heard from other MH dwellers.

There is a certain type of wall paper that you need to hang before you would wallpaper. Sorry I forget the name of it. You would remove the battens, hang this paper then your finished one.

I would simply remove the battens and fill the voids with joint compound. Since these spaces are deep it will take several different layers of joint compound, each layer needing to dry before you go to the next layer. Once filled and dried, sand and then paper.

Yanita
The difference between success and failure is who gives up first!
daridoodle

Hi Yanita

Thanks, I think I am familiar with the wallpaper liner paper which is put on under the final paper.