Thinking about Buying our First MH

Whether it's NASCAR or your family vacation, talk about anything here!

Moderators: Greg, Mark, JD

Gladey

So this is my first time posting here, though I've been skulking around for a few weeks.
My husband an I have a few acres of land and are thinking of buying a small DW MH in the Spring. We've been to all of the MH dealers in our area (more than once), and walked through tons! The brands available in our area seem to be Clayton, Fleetwood, Redman, and Skyline. We really like the Skylines, though the Redman's seem to be fairly sturdy, too.
What should we look for in a dealer? I don't know if we're allowed to talk about specific brands here, but what do you think of the different manufacturers I listed above? Do you have any experience with them?
Any advice for a first-time buyer is welcome!
Greg

Hi & Welcome. Feel free to name names. Many makes are regional, but I believe the ones you named are national.
Look in "sticky posts" in the repair section of the forum. Yanita put together a list of things to look for when buying a home. In addition do your homework and research before going to the dealer.
At the dealer don't be afraid to act clueless and see where they try to steer you, that will show the dealer's integrity. If a dealer has "just what you need" without asking any questions, turn and run! Greg
"If I can't fix it, I can screw it up so bad no one else can either."
Yanita

Hi,

Welcome to the site. You did not say if you are buying used or new.

To me it is not always about the manufacturer name, although some are better than others. As Greg said you are free to mention brand names, but we do not really make it a point to bash one brand over another.

If you are buying used, then yes, I wrote an article in the stickies that is a guide only in purchasing a used home.