FEMA Mobiles in Hope , Ark.

Whether it's NASCAR or your family vacation, talk about anything here!

Moderators: Greg, Mark, JD

Manitoba Bill

Mark was mentioning these mobiles in another post so I thought I would put it here instead.

I used Google Earth to find them and will try and post both.

Looks like an abandoned airport NW of Hope.

http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=33.71652 ... &t=h&hl=en

album_showpage.php?full=true&pic_id=1054&user_id=108
[color=red]
I'm not an Expert, just a DIY[/color]
Mark
Site Admin

Good link. Yep, you zoom in and those are definitely FEMA mobile homes. I never thought of using Google earth to verify it. But with that many homes stored in one place, it probably wasn't hard to find. LOL.

Right now there's a fight in Congress of how to trim down the inventory. They want FEMA to keep some in stock for emergencies, but not 19,000!

Mark
You can't fail if you don't try!
Mark
Site Admin

I was just thinking about our gov't. There's probably so much red-tape to getting a FEMA home, that we could have disasters of epic proportions, and those homes would still be sitting there tied up in red tape!

So our gov't might as well sell them all.

Mark
Harry

Hi

Remember the formaldehyde concerns. Well I just heard on the news that tests confirm the trailers are unhealthy and the people living in them will have to move. Stay tuned.

Harry
Aside from the roof leak, soft floors, rats, mice and bursted plumbing ........ how do you like it?
Mark
Site Admin

The article I read also mentioned the formaldehyde issue. But all new houses have some formaldehyde when new. It's my understanding that as glues & such continue to dry, the formaldehyde will go away or diminish greatly.

So maybe to solve the problem, every morning someone needs to air-out those homes by opening the windows. Then at night or the sight of rain, go close them. Any volunteers to do this every day for 19,000 homes! LOL.

Mark
Harry

Hi

Here's todays headlines:

2/14/2008