Mechanic advice needed

Whether it's NASCAR or your family vacation, talk about anything here!

Moderators: Greg, Mark, JD

JD
Site Admin

I am not a great mechanic and even less qualified in auto electric. Still, I would like to save some money and fix this myself. Funny thing, this is how my problem started :)

I forgot to plug in my lights the last time I brought the boat bake from the lake. The road totally wasted the flat 4 pole connector. So with a battery and alligator jumpers, I thought I had figured out which wire was which. I was wrong. I plugged in my repaired connector to the truck, started the truck and tried the signals. The signals blink 2-3 times and then quit. The 10a signal fuse and the 15a stop light fuse are burned out. Replacing the fuses nets the same results.

Do you think this is fried wires? The flasher I kind of know about under the dash? The flasher I didn't know about that someone suggested, that is supposed to be in the steering column? Where do I start? I will be out staring at my truck for a while and come back hopefully for some words of wisdom.

JD
☯JD♫
Today is PERFECT!

All information and advice given is for entertainment and informational purposes only. The person doing the work is solely responsible to insure that their work complies with their local building code and OSHA safety regulations.
Mark
Site Admin

Fixing trailer wiring is an art in itself! I just spent way too much time with mine when getting ready to pull my bike to Sturgis.

One thing I did find that was extremely helpful was a tester that plugged into the 4-prong connector on the vehicle. The tester has 3 or 4 lights that showed you the blinkers, tail lights & brakes. This gagdet was under $3 at Walmart and made testing the wiring on the vehicle super easy. If the wiring on the vehicle tests OK, then you know the issues are with the trailer wiring.

Mark
You can't fail if you don't try!
Robert

Hi JD,