Little story you may enjoy

Whether it's NASCAR or your family vacation, talk about anything here!

Moderators: Greg, Mark, JD

dandjbarrett

I'm new to mobile home living having only lived in stick built homes all of my life (and I'm a grandmother, so go figure). Anyway, back in the early spring my husband and I visited friends in Florida and one of them owns a lovely little mobile home in a retirement village there. I fell in love with it and the pricing seemed reasonable and as we are getting older, I thought it would be nice to have a winter home in a warmer climate (fewer achey bones that way). Our home is in Virginia and Florida is a two day drive (we won't even think of flying -- no, no, no), so I started a web search in March. In April I found homes in South Carolina in retirement communities and made a trip down there to look at them. Oh my goodness :shock: !!! I looked at dozens, but one of them was just exactly what I wanted in layout, floor space, and on and on. I made an offer and much to my surprise, it was accepted. My journey into mobile home ownership was beginning!! I love the area, I love the development, I love the home. Day 1: the dishwasher fell out into the floor -- no problem, I called a repairman and got a new one. Day 2, the dryer died -- no problem, I went to Lowe's and bought a mh approved one and they came to install it on Day 3. Problem: the dryer vent had fallen down into the belly of the beast. No problem, I had a plumber there to repair the bathtub faucet that was shooting water up the wall. He crawled under and fixed it and also fixed the big hole in the A/C duct. I have arrived.