Underbelly Repairs...

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

kamiller73

Hi all.. I am having to replace the insulation and tarp stuff under the back end of a 16x66 single wide (master bathroom area) due to a water leak and after pipes were fixed they didn't replace it. Ugh. So I am taking the advice of the book and I got the Insulation and 1x4's and am picking up the tarp stuff this morning (size 10'x16') and hopefully they'll have the flex mend tape stuff but I had a question. Once I lay the tarp stuff down then the insulation over it do I then use plastic over that? In pictures I've seen on here when someone's fixing their floor I see clear plastic between the inslulation and the floor. I know that's probably a stupid question but since I've never done this before either - ha ha - I need advice. From what I've been reading on here you have to cuz your pipes might sweat and get the insluation wet, ect. Just let me know if thats right. I'll take pics of it this morning and afterwards when i'm done to post.

Thanks guys and god bless.
kamikaze
Greg

Traditionally the plastic underbelly material also acts as the vapor barrier, but since the insulation does not go up tight against the joists (you want some dead air space for air to flow) it may be almost a good idea to put plactic on the floor side of the insulation to protect it should you have another leak.

If the belly is still open and you have ANY doubts about the plumbing, I would replace it now. Greg
"If I can't fix it, I can screw it up so bad no one else can either."
blbrade1