Newbie here

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

Hello Everyone... What a great site! I've been able to get alot of
info and ideas from reading the forum.
My husband and I are always updating things in our mobile home and now it's time for the roof....
We have a metal roofed 1995 16' x 72' . It has 6" walls and is sitting on pillars. Our plans are to increase the roof pitch, shingle and hopefully, to peak the roof over the trailor and the
deck. We are wanting to use the joists of the trailor but aren't
sure if the walls will hold. If we have to use posts, what would be the fewest amount needed?
Any opinions about problems we could have or need to watch
out for would be greatly appreciated.
Greg

Hi & welcome. You are right to be concerned about the weight issue. I would start with parimiter blocking to help support the weight. You did not say what you now have for roofing, but I would think about removing it if for no other reason weight reduction. I'm sure others will add their thoughts also. Greg
"If I can't fix it, I can screw it up so bad no one else can either."
Yanita

Hi,

Welcome to the site! Glad you have enjoyed what you have been reading.

I can not give you all the specifics on your roof but I can say that if you shingle your roof you will be adding a very substantial weight load to your home. Not only the weight of shingles but the plywood sheathing as well.

Sorry I did not check to see if you had listed a profile on your home, what area are you in. Do you have heavy snow loads that would also be a factor. Do you happen to know what size trusses you have.

There will be others that will contribute to your questions. There are alot of variables to this, so I will leave it to the pros! It might take some time to get this answered properly, not sure who is a round during this holiday weekend.