Condensation? Do I need to replace the subfloor?

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

cat0

I bought this 9 year old mobile home 4 years ago and have been slowly cleaning up the damage from the original owners and their numerous pets. I pulled back the den carpet (to be replaced) while I was working on painting the walls, and found the carpet, pad, and subfloor were actually wet dead-center of the room (about 18 inches across). I threw out the carpet, poured bleach on the floor (it was gross), and watched it get dry, wet, dry, wet over the next few days. So I called a plumber. He said there is no plumbing anywhere near it (I'm not very good at this), finally cut from the underside, and said the insulation and floor are absolutely dry. He was stumped.

I had thought about putting nice vinyl down in here instead of carpet to keep it cleaner, but now I'm not sure what I'm dealing with. The floor is stamped I think "Oriented Structure Board".

The humidity just kicked in and I turned on the a/c. The floor has dried up some, but looks wet when I open the windows back up. This is not a roof leak. Is this condensation? Could this be coming back to an old pet-accident? Do I need to replace this piece of floor?
Harry

Hi

The first thing I would do is take a trip downunder with a bright light and do an inspection. Have someone topside incase of an emergency.

Harry
Aside from the roof leak, soft floors, rats, mice and bursted plumbing ........ how do you like it?
cat0

Harry wrote:Hi

The first thing I would do is take a trip downunder with a bright light and do an inspection. Have someone topside incase of an emergency.

Harry
Thanks, Harry -- the plumber already did so (I'm too claustrophobic). But the insulation and floor are perfectly dry below, and no sign of any water stains.