Warped frame

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

[email protected]

Can the "warped frame" really be repaired after a large tree fell on it? The tree destroyed an added on room put large hole in bedroom and cracks all the way down the livingroom? [/img]
JD
Site Admin

Hi bobbq,

I guess it depends on how you look at it. An insurance adjuster, whose job is cost containment and a contractor seeing a $40K contract would say absolutely. A homeowner with no insurance may be inclined to agree.

As a contractor, I believe that most any home could be rebuilt to more than adequate standards and possibly even make some improvements when using the insurance money to rebuild.

But when you look at the policy wording, it should say "to restore the home to the state it was in before the damage occurred. Being very technical, that is unlikely. This kind of impact could easily create damage that is undetectable at this time. The home may always have squeaks that it did not have before. With a gapping hole, if there is any precipitation, there could be mold or mildew concerns. And everything is totally contingent on the talents and ability of the contractor doing the work. One contractor could do a beautiful job where as another contractor could botch every phase.

That is just my opinion. I have done hundreds of insurance jobs (thank you Foremost) with the largest being over $34K.

JD
☯JD♫
Today is PERFECT!

All information and advice given is for entertainment and informational purposes only. The person doing the work is solely responsible to insure that their work complies with their local building code and OSHA safety regulations.
Maureen

Here's my 2 cents on insurance claims. Get more than 1 or 2 opinions and read your policy very carefully!