Help with mice...PLEASE

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

db_in_maine

Hello, Sorry for the long post bu I am a newbie here and need some advice. We have a seasonal park model in Maine at a campground that is open from Mothers day to Columbus day. We have owned it for 4 years. This year when we opened up we found the mice had gotten in an nested in one of our kitchen drawers. We had left dish towels in the drawer. So we pulled the drawer out and dumped everything and sprayed it with a bleach solution. We are going to junk the drawer and get a new one. When we looked in the cabinet we saw there was an electrical wire on the bottom that was not sealed properly. So I thought that is how the mice were getting in. No big deal, just seal it and be done.

So we were gone for a few weeks. Went back up Friday night of Memorial day weekend. Turned on the AC, chilled out and went to bed. Got up Saturday and did a bunch of work around the camper. After showering I noticed something in the ductwork vent. Turns out it was acorns, etc. The little rodents had gotten into my ductwork. So not knowing how to clean the stuff up I opened up all of the grates on all the ducts and vacuumed them out, then sprayed it with a cleaning solution Only after I read that this is a big no-no and I should not have vacuumed it. So the hypochondriac in me is convinced I am going to die of the Hantavirus!! Plus we had the HVAC running all night Friday without knowing this was in there.

So the next day I crawled under the unit and noticed at least 10-15 rips in the polyethylene belly of the trailer. So I got some rubber gloves, a mask, gorilla tape, steel wool, and insulation and crawled under there. I know I should have used the flex mend tape to seal up the holes, but no place around had it. So I put insulation in the holes, steel wool, and taped them up.