furnace cycles twice

Post all other heating and cooling questions here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark

ponch37300

Hi,

I believe I have an issue with my furnace. Everyone is sleeping right now so I don't want to make noise opening up the furnace door to see what brand it is so I will check tomorrow. The mobile home is a 2000 so the furnace is roughly 9 years old and it just has onr of the cheap thermostats that has the slider to set the temp and the switch to go from off to heat to cool. It will come on and do it's cycle and then shut off. Then sometimes but not all the time it will turn right back on again. I am thinking it might be an issue with the thermostat, telling it to shut off and then back on? Not really sure. I was an electrician for 3 years so I have some trouble shooting skills but don't have much experience working on furnaces so don't really know what to check first. Is there some things I can check out to try and trouble shoot this problem? I think I am going to get a new programable thermostat and see if that solves anything.

Thanks for any advice and help with this, Scott
ponch37300

Well I checked today and it is a coleman furnace so maybe I will start a new post in that section?
Thanks for any advice with this
Robert

Hi,

Is it just the blower coming back on or the blower and burner ?

What is the furnace model number ?

Thanks,
Robert
Some people are Humbly Grateful, while some are Grumbly Hateful.................... Which one are you ?
ponch37300

Hi Robert,

When it cycles twice the burner and blower come back on.

The model number is DGAT070BDF

Thanks, Scott
Robert

Hi Scott,

When it does it, test across control board W and C for 24VAC.

Then trace gas valve wires back to molex plug on the board. Unplug and find board side of plug pins/holes corresponding to the two wires from gas valve.

Test and see if you have 24VAC there and then plug back in and test at gas valve for 24VAC.

Thanks,
Robert