Blower wheel removal - will not come off

Post all other heating and cooling questions here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark

kanekz

I am trying to replace my blower motor, but cannot get the motor shaft out of the blower wheel. I have been doing some research and seems that there is a hub on the back of the blower wheel in which i could use a puller. This is a one time thing so i really do not want to purchase a puller. I haven't tried putting PB blaster yet, but will do so and try to turn the shaft with a crescent wrench (read this somewhere else). Others also suggest sanding down the shaft. Any other tips???

I am new at working on hvac systems, but have some mechanical sense due to working on cars and etc. I appreciate anyone's help on here. I have read the furnace blower article, but I have not removed the whole assembly out. I'm thinking i may have to though to make my life easier.
Robert

Hi,

Definately remove the assembly first. Then sand down end of shaft, squirt PB Blaster into wheel hub set screw hole, turn shaft with crescent wrench while turning wheel in opposite direction.

IF that does not remove it, hold a 2X4 against end of shaft and tap board with hammer to jar it loose.

Sometimes the hub/wheel puller is only option though, but usually one of the above gets it out.

Thanks,
Robert
Some people are Humbly Grateful, while some are Grumbly Hateful.................... Which one are you ?
kanekz

Robert,

Thanks for the reply. I was actually able to get it off today before reading this post with the same instructions that you posted. I did not take the assembly out though, but it would've made the job easier.

My problem now is I'm not sure which wires from the motor are supposed to go to the capacitor. My motor is on its way, but not sure if I will be able to follow the wiring schematic.