Furance blower wont shut off!!!

Questions about repairs and parts for other brands of furnaces and air conditioners. Please note that our speciality is Coleman and Nordyne products, so our knowledge of other brands may be limited.

Moderators: Greg, Mark

Locked
sile1970

Tue Sep 30, 2008 4:28 pm

We just took out our old LSI Home Electric Furance n replaced it with an older/new one. Now not sure if maybe hubby wired it up wrong or whats going on. We turned the furance on and set the thermostate at 70', furance was stilling running when the temp hit 74', blower wount shut off until we turned the termo the whole way down.
Can anyone tell us why or whats going on? As of right now we just can not afford to have a new furance installed.


User avatar
tnt17
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:43 pm
Location: Upstate S.C

Tue Sep 30, 2008 7:01 pm

has it hit 70 degrees yet? since your thermostat is set at 70, you won't have the furnace/blower go off until it hits 70. move it up to 74, it should go off. or your other option is to wait until the house cools down to 70, then it should shut off.
[url=http://www.stormpulse.com]Huricane & Thunderstorm Tracker link[/url]

sile1970

Wed Oct 01, 2008 3:08 am

We set the thermostate at 70', furnace kicked on an was still running when it hit 74' it should of shut off when the temp hit 70' but didnt, it just keept running. Was throwing some dang good heat tho, first time we ever had heat in the 14 yrs we have lived here,the other one just blew luke warm air n never kept the place warm at all.
Now he is thinking that maybe he wired it up wrong, but since we dont have any books to go on we are not sure.
Even when we reset the thermostate down to 60' hoping it would shut off since we only had it set at 70, it wouldnt, just kept running running and running.
Is it possible that he mixed up the L1 n L2 wires? Is the black wire the common wire?

User avatar
tnt17
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:43 pm
Location: Upstate S.C

Wed Oct 01, 2008 6:18 pm

Ok, i was in 'cooling' mode (here in the Carolina's still warm) and not in the heating mode.
I'll let Robert jump in here, he's the expert. Hopefully he replies to your post soon.
[url=http://www.stormpulse.com]Huricane & Thunderstorm Tracker link[/url]

User avatar
Robert
Moderator
Posts: 6413
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:07 am
Location: Tennessee

Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:38 pm

Hi,

Do you have a furnace brand and model number ? May just be a bad sequencer.


What black wire ? There is no common wire on a 240VAC circuit.



Thanks,
Robert
Some people are Humbly Grateful, while some are Grumbly Hateful.................... Which one are you ?


sile1970

Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:43 am

Wanted to give you all a heads up on the funace.
It appears that we are gonna need a new thermostate here sometime soon, But now the blower will shut off on its own. I guess it was not level (the thermostate that is) and now everything seems to be running just right. and the place is staying warm.
Thanks for all your input on this.

User avatar
Robert
Moderator
Posts: 6413
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:07 am
Location: Tennessee

Fri Oct 03, 2008 11:12 pm

Hi,

You're very welcome, happy to help.



Take care and best wishes,
Robert
Some people are Humbly Grateful, while some are Grumbly Hateful.................... Which one are you ?

Locked