How to check flame sensor...DGAA070BDTA

Questions about repairs and parts for Coleman furnaces, air conditioners and heat pumps for manufactured homes. Click here for Coleman parts.

Moderators: Greg, Mark

Locked
Blue_Road_Blogger
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 11:35 am

Sun Oct 07, 2012 11:45 am

Greetings,

I just love it when I find a new place for my questions.

Our furnace is just four years old and worked fine in March. Today the flame will not light. It goes through 2-3 cycles--pilot lights, but burners will not.

We tried the T-stat bypass and same results. Green Light flashes once.

How can I check the orifice / flame sensor? Is that behind the gas valve?

THANKS!!


DaleM
Posts: 385
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:07 am

Sun Oct 07, 2012 2:38 pm

If there is a pilot light there is no flame sensor. If there is an ignitor there is no pilot light. If you have a small flame I think you have a spider web in the oriface. Pull the control valve off the unit. Remove the oriface from the valve assembly. It's the brass thing at the end of the tube with a small hole in it. Look in the tube, if you see white it is a web. Use a Q-tib to remove it. Reassemble your furnace and try it.

Blue_Road_Blogger
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 11:35 am

Tue Oct 09, 2012 7:40 am

Thanks. That means I will have to pull the gas valve, right?

DaleM
Posts: 385
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:07 am

Wed Oct 10, 2012 12:08 am

Yes but it's fairly straight forward and easy.

Blue_Road_Blogger
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 11:35 am

Sat Oct 13, 2012 12:03 pm

THANKS for the support. I pulled it this morning and sure enough there was a cobweb there in the orifice at the outlet of the valve.

It was quick and easy.

Appreciate your assitance.


DaleM
Posts: 385
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:07 am

Mon Oct 15, 2012 11:12 pm

Glad that worked for you!!

Locked