Help My 86-yr. Old Mom Get Heat! (Coleman DGAH056BBSB)

Questions about repairs and parts for Coleman furnaces, air conditioners and heat pumps for manufactured homes. Click here for Coleman parts.

Moderators: Greg, Mark

strum4u

Hello all,

I'm a newbie to the board, and am hoping I can get some help resolving a Coleman Gas Furnace issue.

A week and a half ago, my mother's Coleman DGAH056BBSB Furnace would not come on, having not used it for months, since the last cold weather here in the Northeast.

When setting the thermostat with a target temperature above the room temp, one hears the customary clicking. Then, I can hear the transformer come on and another click inside the furnace, but the inducer motor never starts its draft mode to then activate the pressure switch and then ignition.

After 30 seconds to a minute, the control diagnostics then flashes the dreaded three (3) times, signaling "Combustion air pressure switch failed to close."

I purchased a new and improved Honeywell Combustion Air Switch, recommended by Coleman techs for this particular furnace, but the switch did nothing to fix the problem.

Next, I used a multimeter and confirmed 24 Volts to the Transformer.

Also, I ran 115V of power directly to the inducer, and it works fine, with the squirrel cage spinning smoothly and quietly.

I talked to one friend who works in home remodeling, and he suggested that I get a new circuit board, as likely a capacitor or relay was blown out. I purchased a new circuit board, and carefully installed it with attention to detail, making sure every single wire was connected exactly where it should be.

But, to my dismay, the inducer still doesn't come on at all. Hence, here are some questions as to what my next step should be:

1. How can I test the upper limit switch, and could this be the problem, as the only
other wires in circuit to the inducer, are the upper limit switch, and regular limit
switch, the latter of which is near the ignition?