Coleman heater keeps shutting off

Questions about repairs and parts for Coleman furnaces, air conditioners and heat pumps for manufactured homes. Click here for Coleman parts.

Moderators: Greg, Mark

chivato06

Hi I have a circa 1980 Mobile home...the furnace has had a AC update installed about 15 years ago, however the question i have is about the furnace ...its been working fine up till this year ..I light the pilot all seems well ,then it runs nice with a blue large flame then I hear a click like a relay and it shuts down...after about 30 seconds or a minute....light it again same thing ...used to just lose the main flame now the pilot also shuts down ....help!..... is there any specs to test the thermocouple, I have a Fluke VOM.I am an Aircraft Mechanic so I have some skills ....with mechanical ......thanks for your help Craig ,,, latest update I have learned that a 2 wire round switch is the part that cuts off the system it has a orange and black wire mounted on the left side of the housing..looks like it has a temp disc in it .. help
Robert

Hi Craig,

What is the complete furnace model number ? Is the limit that is tripping up next to or attached to the blower housing ?

Or is it about midway of the furnace ?

Thanks,
Robert
Some people are Humbly Grateful, while some are Grumbly Hateful.................... Which one are you ?
chivato06

Hi Robert..its a model 7656b series 856 , the limit switch? is inside the panel on the left side I see 2 one on the bottom and one above it both have 2 wires and have 2 screws and are round..I can make the unit work and blow hot, if I connect the 2 wires on the upper limit switch , however it doesnt shut down when you turn the themostadt to a low temp like 60...the flame goes to an idle ,but blower keeps going until you actually turn the on off switch off Craig
Robert

Hi Craig,

The top switch is a fan Switch. The bottom is a lower limit switch.

Fan Switch # 7975 - 3281 can be seen and ordered here by paging down :