Tubular skylight

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

kashton

I noticed JD had a pic of a tubular skylight. Are these really hard to install? It would be going through a metal roof. We are having trouble finding a competent man around here to install one for my aunt. I myself refuse to go a roof unless extremely necessary. I also don't think I could get the hole straight. Not to many people here have them, and if they do, they were installed by a roofer.
Humanity is a parade of fools, and I'm at the front, twirling a baton!
Yanita

Hey Kashton,

I have no experience with these.

Will look forward to hearing any and all responses though. I have been thinking about one for our hall, it's not real long but horribly dark, even in the day.

Anybody with experience or first hand knowledge with these?

Yanita
The difference between success and failure is who gives up first!
JD
Site Admin

Hi kashton,

They are actually quite easy to install. The one you saw in the picture was on a comp shingle roof, which adds a slightly higher degree of difficulty. This was a SolarTube unit from Lowe's if I remember right. It came with simple instructions and was very well made. When you seal the skylight to a metal roof, you want to be sure the metal is absolutely clean, down to shiny metal, under the entire flange and out at least 4". I would use butyl rubber window tape under the flange and polyurethane or butyl sealant over the edge. I use Vulkem 116 polyurethane.

On a metal roof, I don't know if a roofer has any advantage. A good mobile home or even RV tech may be more familiar with installing flanges on metal. Actually, I think someone good at moderate DIY could do a perfect job, just because they might care more about their install.

JD
☯JD♫
Today is PERFECT!