Sheetrocking a mobile home

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

Jeneen

Hi everyone, I am a newbie and I have a question. I have a 1996 double wide. What I want to do is Sheetrock the inside walls with Sheetrock once we get it moved and placed on a foundation. Is this possible, my husband concern is the molding around the doors on the inside....etc. Any suggestions? Or can this be done at all? :? :oops:
I don't want someone who walks behind
Nor someone who walks behind me
I have someone who will walk beside me!
Harry

Hi

It is time consuming but it can be done.

The difficulty with my '88 DW is:
1. The wall panels are cemented to the studs.
2. My wall panels are 5/16s and sheetrock comes in 3/8s or 1/2 inch
which means all my window and door molding would have to be redone.

I'd say it is a major project.

Harry
Aside from the roof leak, soft floors, rats, mice and bursted plumbing ........ how do you like it?
Greg

Hi & welcome, I have always maintained that anything is possible with enough planning & $$$. As Harry said many of us have done it and it will take some "Adjustments" to the door & window frames, other than that it is just basic sheetrock work. Greg
"If I can't fix it, I can screw it up so bad no one else can either."
Jeneen

Ok this was my husbands concern....
1. would there be something to attach to...Solid studs?
2. how would one Do the windows and the doors?
I read that MH doors and trim (inside and out) are different dimensions than those in a stick home. Is there any co. (after reading some of the posts I do not have much confidence in "Lowes or HomeDepo".
Once again any ideas is much appreciated.

BTW...I had a neighbor who converted his single wide into a stick home....Wonder if I can some how do that with my DW, just food for thought I guess.

Happy New year everyone
Harry

Hi

What manufacturer is you home?