Hello everyone :) My first post accopanied with an issue :\

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

krystofurr

Hi all!

This is my first post but I have been reading the forum for awhile. Everyone here is so informative and helpful! January my fiance and I moved into our first home, a 1976 mobile home and we have a long way to go. We moved in during the winter and what a crazy winter that was. I want to be prepared for the next one and have been looking at everything we can do. One major thing we found after an energy audit was a gigantic hole around the furnace chimney...lol. Besides stuffing insulation in there would anyone know how to go about repairing around it? Or better still how one would go about repairing and insulating step by step. I'm very new to repair stuff as well :\ Here's an image below.
From what I've been reading about mobiles I believe the ceiling tiles are those long sheet rock type tiles and go across from wall to wall of the mobile.
Greg

Hi & welcome. The problem in your picture is a common one. Since your furnace is probably in it's own closet you can just cut some sheetrock to fit and use some sheetrock screws to hold the patch& insulation up. No need to match the other ceilings since it won't be seen.
I would recommend Mark's (site owner) book. It covers about every type of problem you may have with your home. Check the "Books & parts" section of the site. Greg
"If I can't fix it, I can screw it up so bad no one else can either."
JD
Site Admin