Quick question mold

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

help4MH

Hi,
Just wondering... I'm the one w/ the darned marriage line separation going on. I'm under control w/ that , meaning I'm going to get a contractor and have it re leveled.

My question is, whenever I walk into my bedroom, I smell a moldy smell. I've looked everywhere. Now, if there was a h20 leak b/t the walls, or under the floor, wouldn't it be wet? I've been smelling this for about 2 months.

I had my friend who works construction at a golf /hotel , come over and listen w/ the water running and then he crawled under the Mh, and I ran the hot/cold both , separately, and I hear a "drip, drip drip " noise below the closet floor. I made him listen . It only drips, or that noise, only makes that noise, when the HOT water is on. So again ,he crawled under, and I ran the hot h20. He found no evidence of leakage. When we turned the h20 off, I checked the h20 meter, and no spinning red, so no water dripping w/ the faucets off.

My friend says that w/ an 10 yr old MH, the hot h20 will make the pipes make that noise until the pipes warm up. So I ran the hot h20 for about 10 mins, and the 'drip ,drip ' noise did decrease. It's never gone away. But whenever the h20 is off inside, the meter isn't moving-that little red twirling thing that lets you know the h20 is on. So, is my friend right? And if so, why do I smell a slight moldy smell? I know you can't know. But just thought I'd throw it out there.

IF I had a "slow" leak , wouldn't I have evidence of it over 2 months, by now? Like the floor sinking, or the walls falling apart? It's sheet rock. Don't know what the floor is made of. Never had a new rug in.

Oh, by the way, I absolutely LOVE this website!!! All you guys, people. I'd be a crazy lady by now, if it weren't for you.
Barbara
Greg