condensation

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

DcsEAdE

I have a 12/54 1974 mobile home with new vinyl window vinyl siding a pitched roof. The pitch roof was put over top of the old roof which was a tin roof .Recently I discovered I have soft spots in the ceiling along the exterior walls i pulled down one of the ceiling panels and cut open the vapour barrior and took out the insulation and notice that there was condensation on the tin how can I fix this problem any advise would be greatly appreciated
JD
Site Admin

It sounds like the sun is heating up your add-on roof causing the metal under it to condensate. Does your added roof have adequate ventilation? These are guesses on my part. I have no experience working mobile home roofs in cold weather areas. Hopefully Rod will see this post and give you some advice from actual experience.

JD
☯JD♫
Today is PERFECT!

All information and advice given is for entertainment and informational purposes only. The person doing the work is solely responsible to insure that their work complies with their local building code and OSHA safety regulations.
DcsEAdE

The new pitched roof has a large vent at either face of the peak do you think its possible I need a vent at either end to circulate the air between the old tin roof and the ceiling to eliminate the condansation
JD
Site Admin

It would be good to know how your roof was built to answer that question. When you said "The pitch roof was put over top of the old roof which was a tin roof", it made me think you now have a shingle roof. If this roof is built with trusses, you may be able to go with eave vents as well as a second roof vent. If there were just nailers and sheathing put down, (besides being a bad idea for shingles) vents may not help. Is there insulation in this added section? Can you describe how it was built?