Water seen running down outside wall

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

BarryH1701

I'm new to mobile homes as I've just recently moved into one and I keep finding things that I wonder if they are problems or what. My home has vinyl siding and a shingle roof. Today, I discovered several trails of water running down the outside wall and I am wondering if this is signs of a problem. Most of these water trails start about 2 feet or so below the roof line. They are only on one side of the house and the last rainfall was 3 days ago. I do not find any water stains on the inside wall opposite the water trails, but I do not know if there is any water between the walls. I need to know if this is signs of a problem or can water sometimes get under the siding and just drain out slowly. I have found one area where I do have water inside the wall and it shorted out my telephone wiring where it got wet, but there is no corresponding trail of water on the outside wall. I can send photographs to anyone who would like to see these water trails. I'm sure I will have a number of other questions since I'm so new at mobile home living, but this issue is one which does have me concerned until I can find out more information. If anyone can help, it would be greatly appreciated.
JD
Site Admin

Hi Barry and welcome to the forum. I updated your profile to allow picture uploads, so if you have some pics you would like to show us, you should see an Upload Picture button when you post a message.

Do you have aluminum awnings? What are the day and night temps where you live? Does your roof have an overhang? How is the vinyl siding finished where it meets the roof? Metal trim? Vinyl J-channel?

JD
☯JD♫
Today is PERFECT!