Nordyne E2EH 015HA fan will not work in auto postion

Questions about repairs and parts for Nordyne furnaces, air conditioners and heat pumps for manufactured homes including Intertherm, Mac and Miller brands. Click here for Nordyne parts.

Moderators: ponch37300, Mark, flcruising, Greg

Nordyne E2EH 015HA fan will not work in auto postion

Postby alleycat » Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:48 am

Hello my blower motor will not work in auto position regardless of a/c or heat mode. Last year had to replace circuit board because it shorted out. replaced board with new wiring harness and just replaced sequencer based on hvac technician recommendation and still fan will not run on auto position. this unit has small rocker switch on front panel for auto/on operation. I have to turn that switch to on in order to get blower to come on. Please help!!
alleycat
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:38 am

Re: Nordyne E2EH 015HA fan will not work in auto postion

Postby DaleM » Fri Jan 20, 2012 11:46 am

You mention a rocker switch on a panel, is there also a Heat/Cool rocker switch on the same panel? Sounds like the blower relay is bad.
DaleM
 
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:07 am

Re: Nordyne E2EH 015HA fan will not work in auto postion

Postby alleycat » Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:27 pm

No just the one switch on the front panel
alleycat
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:38 am

Re: Nordyne E2EH 015HA fan will not work in auto postion

Postby alleycat » Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:33 pm

looks like this.
Attachments
632092.jpg
632092.jpg (38.87 KiB) Viewed 2130 times
alleycat
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:38 am

Re: Nordyne E2EH 015HA fan will not work in auto postion

Postby flcruising » Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:20 pm

As DaleM mentioned, it sounds like it's either the blower relay or the t-stat.
Aaron
User avatar
flcruising
Moderator
 
Posts: 606
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 2:18 pm
Location: Florida Panhandle

Re: Nordyne E2EH 015HA fan will not work in auto postion

Postby alleycat » Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:01 pm

what relay? I dont see a relay
alleycat
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:38 am

Re: Nordyne E2EH 015HA fan will not work in auto postion

Postby flcruising » Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:54 pm

Yes, it appears you don't have a relay. But also, the model number given is for a heat only unit, therefore the heat pump system (mentioned in your other post) is probably in control of the blower anyways.

You can try and check the wiring against this - http://www.nordyne.com/Literature/359a.pdf#page=15

But without literature on your heat pump unit, we can't be much more help.
Aaron
User avatar
flcruising
Moderator
 
Posts: 606
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 2:18 pm
Location: Florida Panhandle

Re: Nordyne E2EH 015HA fan will not work in auto postion

Postby DaleM » Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:00 pm

Any chance this is a multi-speed blower? Has to be one of 2 things. Quite possible the heat/ low speed winding in the motor has gone bad. By setting the fan switch to ON you are energizing the high speed winding, typically used for ac, because that is the way the switch is wired. OR there is a relay in there someplace and the heat side of it is not making contact. A relay will be a small black box about 1.5" wide, 2.5" long and about an inch thick. It will have 5-6 terminals on it, all on one side. When ac is put on a furnace you need a relay in the system so it can switch blower speeds. Normally low speed for heat and high speed for air conditioning. If multi-speed you can track the wires from the blower, see which one is currently in the system for the heat speed and change it to another one. Multi-speed blowers have either 3 or 4 speeds.
DaleM
 
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:07 am

Re: Nordyne E2EH 015HA fan will not work in auto postion

Postby alleycat » Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:38 pm

I failed to mention the blower also does not automatically work on a/c mode either. I have to flip the switch to on for heat or a/c. any ideas?
alleycat
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:38 am

Re: Nordyne E2EH 015HA fan will not work in auto postion

Postby DaleM » Thu Jan 26, 2012 7:47 pm

You any good with a multitester? You could pull the rocker switch out and test the AUTO side of it. Could be that side of the switch is cooked out.
DaleM
 
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:07 am

Re: Nordyne E2EH 015HA fan will not work in auto postion

Postby alleycat » Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:14 am

Yeah I tested it yesterday and I got 120 volts on every wire no matter if it was in auto or on. And I found out my blower is not multi speed. Its funny I am a auto mechanic and if this was a vehicle I would have already figured it out. When testing this rocker switch the way I understand the wiring schematic if the switch is in auto mode you will only have continuity on two terminals and if you flip it to the on mode you will have continuity on the other two. This may be wrong but not sure. Page 9 and Page 15 of the wiring schematic are what I have been looking at.
alleycat
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:38 am

Re: Nordyne E2EH 015HA fan will not work in auto postion

Postby flcruising » Fri Jan 27, 2012 9:53 am

Does the yellow wire from the fan switch connect to Sequencer #1?
Aaron
User avatar
flcruising
Moderator
 
Posts: 606
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 2:18 pm
Location: Florida Panhandle

Re: Nordyne E2EH 015HA fan will not work in auto postion

Postby DaleM » Fri Jan 27, 2012 10:19 am

Okay I printed out page 15 of the schematic. How many wires on the switch? Switch posted has 6 terminals drawing shows 3 wires. Going from the drawing, Black lead to switch is always energized (M2 on the sequencer) and will be the fan ON side of the switch. Yellow is energized from the sequencer (M1) and will be the AUTO side of the switch and only energized when T-stat is calling for heat, meaning terminals are closed. When T-stat is closed, check for 220v between M1 and the orange blower lead (common), not a neutral but the other leg of the 220v circuit to power the blower. If only 110v, check for 110v on each, M1 to ground and orange lead to ground. If blower is not working on AUTO one of them must not have power. Frustrating I know.....hell if I was ther I'd have all this knocked out in about 10 minutes.
DaleM
 
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:07 am

Re: Nordyne E2EH 015HA fan will not work in auto postion

Postby alleycat » Sat Jan 28, 2012 12:23 pm

My switch has three wires. One black, one yellow, and the other is yellow. I also bought a new rocker switch just to be sure. If I check between M1 and Orange wire going to blower I get 0 volts with system in heat mode.
I checked them seperately and each have 110 volts seperately. I also made sure thermostat was in heat mode.
alleycat
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:38 am

Re: Nordyne E2EH 015HA fan will not work in auto postion

Postby DaleM » Sat Jan 28, 2012 4:55 pm

You should get 220v between M1 and orange when thermostat is calling for heat. Try this, kill power, take the black lead from the blower switch off of M2 and put it on M1. Set the blower switch to ON and try the furnace. That would change wiring to test sequencer, blower already works in ON position but now we will run the AUTO feature though the ON side of the switch. Heck go one step further and put the yellow wire from M1 on terminal M2. That will make the AUTO side of the switch the ON side now. Even better pull the T-stat wires off at the furnace, red and and white (heat circuit to tstat) that will take thermostat out of systen as well. Power back up, nothing should happen. Twist red and white tstat wires together, blower should come on after a shrt delay then heat cycle should start. If so, after about 5 minutes untwist red and white, furnace should back out of heat cycle, sequencer will click as it takes elements offline, and blower should shut off after about 2-3 minutes. If that doesn't work either the wiring isn't right or the sequencer is bad.
DaleM
 
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:07 am

Next

Return to Nordyne Service & Repair

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest