Nordyne furnaces don't have filters?

Questions about repairs and parts for Nordyne furnaces, air conditioners and heat pumps for manufactured homes including Intertherm, Mac and Miller brands. Click here for Nordyne parts.

Moderators: Greg, Mark

Locked
nestsman
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 6:06 pm

Wed Sep 25, 2013 11:24 pm

Today I looked but could not find a replaceable furnace filter. I have a Nordyne. Do these units made for mobile homes not come with a filter?

Thanks!


Norm Frechette
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 7:34 am
Location: Norwich, CT

Thu Sep 26, 2013 4:47 am

write down the model number and do a GOOGLE search

there should be something on the net as in photos or the owners manual

i have this behind the furnace door

Image

ponch37300
Posts: 622
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 6:12 pm
Location: wisconsin

Thu Sep 26, 2013 8:42 am

When I first moved in with my girlfriend who owned the mobile home I took over all the maintenance jobs. One day I decided to check the furnace filter and couldn't find one! I couldn't believe they didn't have filters so did some googling and found the filter is on the door and someone had removed ours and never replaced it. Home depot sells the "mesh" like filter that you cut to size to fit your door.

User avatar
Greg
Moderator
Posts: 5377
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:01 pm
Location: Weedsport, NY
Contact:

Thu Sep 26, 2013 6:39 pm

Often the filter mesh is in the door for the furnace area.

Let's move this to the heating section.

Greg
"If I can't fix it, I can screw it up so bad no one else can either."

Mobile68
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:33 am

Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:01 am

I have that "filter" as well, and I use that term uselessly, as you can practically see through it. Most dust will get right through. The only airborne particles that it will catch is pet hair and carpet fibers. Given that I have no pets or carpet, I question if I should even have it at all.


DaleM
Posts: 385
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:07 am

Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:58 pm

Go to a big box store and get a couple 16x20x1 filters. Cut about 3/8" off one side of the filters along the 16" dimension side. They will fit into the door better. Usually there is a wire that holds the filters in place, if not still ther bend up a hanger to hold them in. I usually use two filters regardless of the furnace model to cover all louvers in the furnace front door.

Mobile68
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:33 am

Fri Oct 04, 2013 9:59 am

Unlike typical furnace filters, you can practically see through the mesh type. So I assume that the mesh filters will have much better air flow, but allow a lot more through.

In other words, would the higher air restriction of a typical furnace filter be a concern?

DaleM
Posts: 385
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:07 am

Sat Oct 05, 2013 12:36 pm

No I have used pleated filters with no apparent loss of furnace efficiency. I would say as long as it is only 1" thick you will be okay. Have one customer that uses the 1' thick $15 allergen filters and he says it's no problem. Those seem to catch the smallest of particulate matter.

Mobile68
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:33 am

Sat Oct 05, 2013 12:38 pm

Ok. Thanks Dale.

jpingram5
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 5:34 pm
Location: Orefield, PA
Contact:

Wed Oct 16, 2013 4:44 am

I found a 20 x 30 x 1 pleated filter fits inside the door perfect for most of the newer nordyne furnaces.
2009 Skyline Sunwood Premier 14 x 80

Locked